4ms Ensemble Oscillator

Easily create a wide variety of sounds ranging from aggregates of pure sine waves to pulsar synthesis or pristine harmonic tones and lush wide chords to rich dirty drones and rumbling glitches.

I love 4ms, but I don’t see how this module is poised to do pulsar synthesis – does anyone have insight?

I don’t have the module (yet) and I’m no expert on pulsar synthesis, but from the manual:

There’s some discussion of it here beginning around 6:50:

“not a full pulsar synthesizer, but it takes one aspect from it”

1 Like

Ah, OK that makes more sense, thanks. Odd they didn’t just say you can alter the pulsewidth. Pulsar synthesis is something pretty different.

But is that all the algorithm does? I’m not sure.

Based on the demo video you posted, yeah, it’s just doing pulsewidth modulation on sine waves.

Has anyone picked up one of these and got reflections on it? I’m eyeing it from a distance, encouraged in part by @attowatt’s excellent generative compositions. For now, I think I’m going to try exploring a similar style with Odessa while knowing it will take me to different places. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I was considering it but felt that since I had chords V2 picking it up would be redundant. I haven’t heard many different sounds from
It that chords couldn’t already do, just a thought. Will have to check out the demo you saw bc it’s a pretty new module so not much has been posted with it yet.

I’ve had one for a few weeks now and its a keeper for me. It fits well with my taste for ambient, melodic drone and texture.
It isn’t the easiest module to work with in a deterministic way. You can’t just send a sequence to the 1v/oct input and expect it to behave like a monophonic oscillator and it takes time to set it up to work harmonically with conventional oscillators.
On its own, especially for drone, it feels like cheating sometimes. Ellen Radigue in a box kind of thing.