A Survey on Grid Interfaces

Dear lines community,

my name is Beat Rossmy and I am a PhD student in the field of Human Computer Interaction. My research is about Tangible Interaction with a focus on interaction in the musical context. (e.g. https://vimeo.com/231299236 )

I am currently working on a paper about grid controllers/instruments/interfaces and therefore conducting an online survey about their usage, imitations and possible future developments. I would appreciate it if you would participate and share your point of view!

Since this forum has always been a huge source for inspiration, I would immensely appreciate your feedback and opinions. To provide room for further discussion, I would also love to use this thread to initiate a conversation about the following topics:

• What would you consider the first musical grid interface?
  • How to define grid interfaces?
  • Generic vs. contextual interface? (Grid vs. Push)
  • Future developments and current limitations.

Thank you very much for your time and thoughts!

3 Likes

While many sources consider the Tenori-On and the monome grid as the first musical grid interfaces. I found during my research that Roland used in 1998 a 4x4 illuminated button matrix in der sp808 workstation. Do you know any other examples of even earlier grid interfaces in musical equipment?

3 Likes

The Akai MPC-60 predates the SP808 4x4 button matrix by at least a decade…

6 Likes

this is true. but I think it depends on the definition of a grid, we want to use. if we follow with Brian’s definition “tactile and visual feedback. decoupled by design.”, the pads of the MPC miss the light feedback and thus are not the same as modern grid interfaces such as the Monome grid or the Ableton push.

But I agree that the MPC is definitely a successor to modern grid interfaces!

seems mildly odd to follow Brian’s definition if the monome grid is to be a later development in this story?