Aleph built with an AVR + blackfin dev kits

Hi, sorry for the total n00b question here.
I have a Blackfin BF-537 Eveluation Kit, and I was looking for an example of a synthesizer built around it. The aleph is great, and it uses the BF-533 and I was wondering if you see the following as doable: If I buy a dev kit for the AVR32 A0512, do you think it’s going to be possible for me to create the serial communication and, basically, recreate the aleph using the two development boards? I have little experience in hardware units, and it seems that this could be a terrific learning experience

EDIT: I was thinking of something like this
http://www.alvidi.de/shop/product_info.php?language=en&info=p35_AVR32-Entwicklungsmodul.html

It could be a ‘terrific learning experience’ but it could also be incredibly frustrating and unsatisfying situation. The serial communication between the two processors is not trivial to implement and while you could likely just load the bees (or similar aleph AVR program) on the AVR it likely won’t make a lot of sense without the hardware.

It probably makes more sense to use something like an STM32 discovery board and roll your own communication protocol that makes sense for whatever interface you plan on building. Then you can just strip out the main process loop from something like the ‘waves’ DSP program for a start at the synth programming.

I don’t mean to be discouraging, but it’s likely not the easiest beginners project if you don’t have much experience with embedded processors. The abovementioned Discovery Board is a good start to get into embedded programming, then after familiarizing yourself, you should be able to expand and connect it to your BF dev board.

Thanks for you reply. I don’t wanna end up frustrated and unsatisfied, so makes perfect sense! Last thing: do you have any pointers to resources on how such a communication protocol is normally established? thank you!