Ansible installation

Hi.

Sorry. I feel look a total noob, but I’m about to install my newly purchased Ansible into my case and I’m having a very doubtful moment. Is it right that the red stripe on the ribbon cable should be turned upwards, if that makes any sense? If so, should the same red stripe allign with the -12V with the power supply, then having the ribbon cable twisted inside the case? I think it is «alligned» with both the module and the power supply on most of the other modules in my case, which made me very uncertain… Something just didn’t feel right, and I just won’t take any chances.

Here’s a picture to illustrate.

I’ll delete the thread as soon as I’m secured, so hope someone can help a nervous guy out. I’ve read the instructions on the websites and all, but I got seriously cold feet. Don’t want to blow this or any other modules in the attempt.

maybe this can help you:
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15109&start=0

:slight_smile:

hi

yes

yes, i think so

1 Like

@aroom thanks! Yeah, I know that the -12V on my bus board is located on the bottom, so the red stripe will usually go there. I think what threw me off here is that the module itself doesn’t have a “-12V”-label, if you will. I’m guessing the “white indicator” is the equivalent?

a lot of my module’s ribbon cables do a twist to plug into the case power. the stripe doesn’t always go up or down.

with a lot of modules and bus boards (ansible included) the socket has that little cut out and the cable has a little tab that fit together like a key so you actually can’t plug it in the wrong way.

so you’re right about how to plug cable into the ansible. that white strip is the indicator. and it’s not uncommon that the cable would twist to be properly aligned with the case power.

3 Likes

It is…

https://monome.org/docs/modular/ansible/

Align the 10-pin ribbon cable so the red stripe corresponds to the white indicator on the rear of the module’s circuit board.