Ansible + Teletype = White Whale?

Hi all, just seeking for some advice here as I’m new to Ansible and considering Teletype. I would like to be able to mimic MLR like functionalities with a combination of monome modules and the ER-301. I know ChapelierFou already has a proof of concept using WhiteWhale and it looks pretty close to what I’d like to acheive but WW is dicontinued and apart from getting one second hand I was wondering if a combo Ansible + Teletype would be able to get me there?

Thanks!

i think the 301 + ansible running kria is all you need to have a LOT of fun. as long as your kria sequence is outputting a voltage that rises incrementally with each step you should be able to cut around and loop sections mlr-styles.

what you won’t get is access to up to 7 separate loops at once, with groups and gesture recording.

If you’re not too impatient, i’d suggest to wait some time. I’ve discussed with Brian, the maker of the ER-301, and maybe someday there will be a way to communicate between ansible/TT and the ER-301, and who knows, maybe an mlr mode ?

I “think” that doing a special mlr firmware for ansible must be quite easy to code (well…when you know how to code). Part of the code is already present in WW’s code. And i hope someone (like @scanner_darkly or @bpcmusic ?) would give it a try one day…

3 Likes

as it happens i should be getting my ER-301 tomorrow :slight_smile:

i’m not familiar with mlr/mlrv though, and i imagine the workflow will translate differently when applied to ER-301, especially considering it can be configured in many different ways. it would probably make sense to get a sense of how people integrate their ER-301 with the existing modules/firmwares and then figure out if a dedicated firmware would make sense?

4 Likes