Arduinome: building, troubleshooting, using, etc

Hello all. It has been a very long time! I was somewhat involved in the forums a long while ago (around 2008/2009, if memory serves me correctly), but went on an eight year hiatus! During that time, I have maintained an interest in electronic music and interesting controllers like the monome/arduinome, but due to commitments and hectic schedules, I’ve fallen off the map a bit.

I was cleaning my music room (I’m also a drummer who dabbles in guitar and bass), and came across my arduinome and a second partially built arduinome. They were a bit (read: very) dusty, and I began to ponder the possibility of resurrecting these aged titans! Well…resurrecting one aged titan, and completing the other!

After a quick dusting, I’ve begun an attempt to finish the second arduinome I started building so many years ago. I should hopefully finish the wiring in the next few days. The hardware construction is ironically the thing I’m less worried about… It is the software implementation/interfacing that I’m a bit nervous about!

I figured I’d detail my attempts at getting these two bygone beasts working again…complete with pictures!

I know that I’m going to need some help along the way, so I’m sure I’m going to be asking questions to the community during the process. I’m not sure if anybody will be able to offer any assistance, though! It seems the arduinome variants have basically gone the way of the dodo as the popularity of pad-based controllers increased, and cheaper alternatives emerged.

I’ll snap a few pictures of my current progress this evening. In preparation for starting the software flashing, I have downloaded the applications/drivers detailed on the original Flipmu.com site (http://flipmu.com/work/arduinome/instructions/duemilanove-ftdi-based-arduino/). I will also need to download the ardruinome firmware, and arduinomeserial.