Arturia V Collection 6 - good buy?

So, Arturia has come out with V Collection 6, adding the DX7 among others. I can currently purchase this for $249 thanks to owning a BeatStep Pro… but I’ve never used Arturia plugins before. The reviews seem positive…

Has anyone here used the V collection before, and is it worth the price of admission? I’ve been quite happy with my Prophet, but having access to some vintage sounds like the DX7 is reeeaallly tempting. So I’d like some feedback on whether this is likely to be a worthwhile purchase or just another toy. Alternative suggestions are also welcome (not just for the DX7, but for the whole suite).

I use these synths more than any other musical software or gear (aside from my DAW of the moment). Not just a toy.

2 Likes

I completely agree. They’ve been my main ‘analog’ sound source when doing things inside the box, alongside Madrona Labs Aalto. I’ve used the whole collection since V3.

2 Likes

Thanks @jasonw22 and @jeffreypierce for the feedback. I went ahead and bought the collection then. Should be a nice complement to the analogue beasties.

So now I’m looking for workflow tips and tricks - do you just click around the various interfaces and set up your favourites one by one or are there some global parameter maps that tend to make better sense with this kit? I don’t usually use soft-synths, and would prefer to map my physical controllers as wisely as possible. I might even buy a dedicated MIDI controller for the softsynths and leave my other ones for the modules.

2 Likes

I’m personally fond of using Analog Lab as a frontend to the collection. This provides 8 consistent macro knobs you can map and that will always work regardless of which instrument you’re using.