Auto-Calibrating a VCO with 1 volt/octave tracking

Hey all :wave:,

I was hoping to get some feedback on this code I have been working on. It is my first attempt at any “DSP” type programming and although it works I am kind of curious if there are any other methods/approaches for solving this same problem. I couldn’t find anything online about it digitally calibrating analog oscillators - at least not for synthesizer / music applications.

You can take a look at the code here, but essentially it goes like this:

1. Use a DAC to send a 1 volt per octave signal to a VCO
2. Using an ADC, sample the frequency of that VCO
3. Compare the sampled frequency of the VCO to a predetermined target frequency
4. Adjust the output voltage either up or down depending on whether the sampled frequency is higher or lower than the target frequency
5. Repeat steps 1 to 4 until the input frequency is equal to the target frequency
6. Once the input frequency is equal to the target frequency, store that value and move on to the next pitch to be calibrated
7. Repeat

Heres a little demo video of me going through the calibration routine.

I think I can get the routine to execute a little faster. It currently takes about a minute and a half to finish calibrating one oscillator, and since my design controls 4 oscillators the routine starts to drag on a bit. It would be cool if I could get the total time per oscillator down to like… 1 second or something.

One solution to speed things up - which I have yet to try - is to somehow determine the exponential slope of the VCOs 1 v/o tracking, then I could just run the calibration routine for one octave (or even one semitone? :man_shrugging:) and apply that slope to the remaining 16-bit values. It should work the same way right? I need to study the 1v/o tracking circuits a bit more.

Any ideas? Optimizations? Alternative approaches worth researching?

1 Like