Beyond The Basics, Of Basic Monome Modular Questions

Dear all,

I am new to the discovery of modular synthesis, and so intrigued. I have a few hardware
synths and make electronic music, I would love to become obsessed and
dabble in creating my own modular set-up using the Monome modules. But
when I think I know what is required, or when I reckon that I’ve got my
head around what you need to start with, I realise I’m on completely the
wrong track.

Reading through this site I can see there’s a lot of modular fanatics, so I hope my questions don’t cause
offence… as I have no idea… what/how/where it all works.

So…absolute basics… I love the sounds of the Earthsea and Meadowphysics.
These modules fit in to ‘EuroRack’ format? So if I had a EuroRack Case I
would connect these up, making sure the power is suitable etc and they
would work with my ‘other modules’.

Question is, what do you actually need? What’s a good starting place for getting in to
modular systems? From what I can see none of the Monome modules are a
‘starting place?’ rather they are affecting inputs from generators and
other modules that create the tones? I know it’s all personal and anything works with anything…
But where do you start to get the sounds I can hear in the videos?

Eg on the Earthsea videos… the little unit pictured above is ‘what you get’ but in the
video I can see all the other Monome modules, and more? Are these all in
a Euro Rack? What’s ‘starting it all off’?

Would I be better starting with something like a Doepfer A-100bs2-P6 and then
expanding by adding Monome modules in to a bigger Euro Rack Case? I
would love to know exactly all the equipment/modules used in these
videos advertising the Monom modules to go from nothing, to getting the
sound it achieves.

Also, how does the Grid come into this? I don’t see a laptop in the videos? But it works with a laptop?
Or does it talk to the modules? I’ve read ‘a monome grid is plugged into the