"boku" by matt lowery

Hello, friends.

So, I’ve been working meticulously on a full-length LP for about 18 months. Upon turning that material in for mixing, I felt pretty drained and, quite frankly, a little bored.

So, I reached out to a few friends and decided to make an EP, start to finish, in four days. This is that project, and it’s called “boku”.

This project was very different for me. I let my subconscious take the wheel, and it was so much fun to see where it wanted to go. The music explores repetition in both nature and man-made instruments. It celebrates cycles, and gradual change over time.

The record is very much a spiritual companion to Murakami’s “Hard Boiled Wonderland and The End of the World”, which I had inhaled the week before making boku. I won’t elaborate further here, as to avoid spoilers.

Also heavily influenced by dream sequences in Tarkovsky’s Stalker, and by this essay by Cormac McCarthy.

Thank you to @srogers91 , @n-So and BlankFor.ms for their excellent material.

@srogers91 played the plumbutter
@n-So played a drone on his Endorphines system
BlankFor.ms sent some delicious tape texture and tones

If you have any process or instrument questions, I’m here for it! For the most part, the record is field recordings, modular, double knot, plumbutter, ms-20, lyra-8, pulsar 23, norns (specifically flora), and coors banquet.

edmond
cashion (feat. @n-So )
boku
watashi (feat. @srogers91)
kekulé (feat. BlankFor.ms)

mastered by @taylor12k
the cover photo was captured by easton oliver

Download codes

ang8-6awq

rak2-y7dt

vh3b-76yg

6ex5-5knu

krc9-u8qq

nmhu-ef6t

mgex-ua97

9trs-jngv

3nms-yen9

558e-b75z

86zb-wvng

tn2m-cy5u

tam6-hr7p

xvrk-unql

hgv2-jm6e

h2ba-kg8u

qlvb-67uq

fcg5-yvmz

5huf-7kyg

gqwv-e9nu

48 Likes

I used this code, very psyched to hear this!

Thanks Matt!

Ed

1 Like

xvrk-unql

thanks for the code! excited to listen!

1 Like

Thank you for sharing it with us :slight_smile: I used this code ^

1 Like