Booking shows in London UK advice?

Hello!

I am a long term lurker on this forum, all credit to the Sound/Process podcast being by best friend on my hour long walk to work.

I have been producing electronic music for the last 4/5 years. I have been confident enough to release some pieces on Spotify/Soundcloud and much like anyone who releases music I have a desire for it to be heard by a live audience.

I have found it difficult to find a shows in London for someone who has literally no “contacts” or even a musical following.

Does anyone have any solid advice on booking shows in London UK and how to manoeuvre through the ranks of live electronic performance?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

p.s if it helps, here is a link to some of my pieces:

6 Likes

I haven’t played a huge number of live shows, but I’d say that by far the most important aspects are the two things you’ve already mentioned: developing a network of contacts & building an audience.

For better or worse, a decent chunk of the underground / independent music scene runs on social connections - being in the same place as people, developing friendships, and all that stuff. There are bound to be people in your neighbourhood putting on small-scale shows - if you can find out what’s happening around you and start tapping into those little networks, rather than assuming you have to build everything from scratch yourself, you’ll have better odds of making something happen.

In terms of audience - London’s got a million things happening all the time, which is brilliant in lots of ways, but it also makes it really hard to cut through the noise and get people to pay attention to what you’re doing. Playing and promoting live shows can be exhausting, way more than most places, and it’s really easy to lose confidence and burn out.