Bringing visuals to your music and sound

Hi, new to the community!

My background is in software development, mostly involved with creating visual tools, audio is a new world of exploration. In the meantime I’d still like to contribute to the community with the tools and resources I know how to create. Specifically I’m interested in tools that add visual elements to the kind of music and sound created here. I’ve seen some unorthodox and interesting workflows in sound design here that spark similar ideas for visual workflows.

I would love to get your input on how (or if) you create visuals for your audio works and performances.

• Do you use any visual media during live performances? (via projections, stage design, etc.)
  • Do you have any unique workflows for integrating sounds and visual creations?
  • When sharing your music or performances on visual domains (Instagram, Vimeo, Youtube, etc), how important is it to add a visual element?
  • If important, what tools do you use to create the visual elements?

There was a lot of great discussion regarding live visuals here. I would like understand what tools or workflows can be developed to allow more synthesis between images and sound.

4 Likes

Don’t have much to add as I am only beginning to learn, but I have been playing around with audio into TouchDesigner to modify 3d objects and what not. I’d eventually like to get into some projection mapping but alas summer is here and the outdoors call.

I’ve been using TouchDesigner for about a year. It’s a great piece of software for this kind of thing.

I’m using monome patches to make music, something I’m interested in doing is mapping the actions I’m making there directly to visuals. that way I’m controlling the video as much as the sound, without really thinking about them separately.

1 Like