Bytebeats - A Beginner‘s Guide!

I just released a free PDF guide to coding Bytebeat music. You know, those few lines of code, generating fun chiptune music! This one, for example … go ahead and play with the code! :wink:

You can download the guide here then:
https://nightmachines.tv/bytebeats-tutorial

A little bit of background info:
When discovering Bytebeats recently, in anticipation of the AE Modular AlgoDrone module, I loved that I could just randomly change pieces of code and would usually end up with a musical “happy accident”. After a while though, I wanted to know more why things behaved like they did, but I didn’t find much information for absolute beginners without much math knowledge and coding experience. So I did a lot of research and in then end, wrote this guide from the notes I had gathered along the way.

I’d love to get feedback on this, so let me know how the guide worked for you, if you have time :slight_smile:

Happy coding!

27 Likes

This was a really fun way to start the day :slight_smile:

t/5|t*2&t/20>>1|45*t*-t/666|t/12|t/666>>2

2 Likes

just wanted to additionally link to viznut who did early work on bytebeat (and has some great writing)

4 Likes

Oh, hey, neat! I’ve always wanted to understand bytebeats better. Thank you for this! Looking forward to going through it.

At one point I wrote a VST plugin based on a collection of two-parameter bytebeat algorithms. If I ever get back into actually writing musical code I might port it to something a bit more open rather than using the libraries that I did.

But it kind of took away from the livecoding experience of the thing, just turning it into a glitchy oscillator without much of the self-contained rhythm and melody that is kind of the whole point of bytebeats.

Yeah, viznut’s stuff got me started :slight_smile: I included links to his pages at the back of the guide PDF because I think he quickly gets more “advanced” too.

3 Likes

t/.75&t/127%96|t/35