Cassette Recorders

What kind of recorders do you guys use? I’ve seen some models in the more recent tehn videos that I can’t identify. If you use a Tascam multi track, have you tried others and come to the conclusion that the Tascam sounds the best?

i absolutely love my tascam 424 mk3

i’ve been using a yamaha mt4x four-track for a few years now. it sounds great. although the preamps are rather noisy at higher gain levels, it doesn’t show up too much on tape. biggest issue is that it doesn’t offer 1/4" outs of any kind; it’s all phono/RCA output. also, given the component age and the varying response of the individual mono TS inputs, it’s a little tricky to create stereo recordings. i stick with mono.

Nakamichi 600 all the way here, pure love. Not a multitrack though

1 Like

I had a Tascam 488 MKII that i really loved and a Tascam Porta02mkII mini studio that was nothing special. Both died. The 488 was used extensively, the 02 not that much. Now i have a Foster X-28H and i really love it, so far so good.

I have Tascam Porta02mkII too, convenient for recording tapes as its normal speed

As much as I love tape I never used a multitrack recorder and none of my decks have been Tascam.

Had a really nice Onkyo deck years ago for listening and have also owned a bunch of Marantz pmd’s that i liked to record with (usually 221s).

The two decks I use right now are JVC TD-v66 and a Marantz PMD 510.

I use 2 x Akai MG614 (Linked)

And find them amazing with my sp12/1200/909 (Chicago House Heaven) :slight_smile:

also use the tascam 688 a bit

I’d recommend them both

Master to sony metal master ceramic tape which rocks

s

1 Like

@Ted will have an informed opinion on this discussion…

1 Like