Composing for a String Quartet

Recently my muse inspired me to push myself as a musician. This last weekend, I met a string quartet in a bakery. Set up some microphones, and recorded them performing a piece I wrote completely from scratch. It has been one of the most satisfying experiences in my musical life. I have zero classical training and I’m a beginner level at reading music. I wanted to document here how I pulled it off in the hopes that others might find it useful.

First. I listened to a ton of quartet music. I created a playlist of pieces that had elements I enjoyed or wanted to use.

Then I went and found the sheet music for those pieces (musecore was an absolute treasure for this). Sticking with more well known masters made the sheet music easier to find. Then I studied all the sheet music. Just mostly listening and taking in the notation and how it mapped to a player playing it. Did some music theory studies for the chord qualities and progressions for phrases I liked.

The above process went on for probably 3 months. I also watched all the youtube content about quartets and string players I could.

I waited for the Spitfire Audio Sacconni Quartet string library to go on sale and picked it up. Once I had that in hand I started making little doodles. From this I learned how to set up my daw sessions for midi composition. Learned how to swap sample banks based on the tonal quality and volume I was going for, and also midi automation.

At this point I started emailing quartets. Following local chamber music groups on facebook and instagram is a great way to connect in to your local classical players. Also going to performances.
Smaller venues yielded much better experiences than the big performance halls. I found a quartet and we figured out a timeline and fee that worked for both of us.