Create something like Fugue Machine for the grid?

So I was experimenting with multiple instances of step from terms in ableton, one running at 1/16 and one at 1/32. Both playheads were being displayed on the the grid simultaneously. Cool effect but difficult in practice.

It got me thinking about how easy (maybe?) it would be for someone to modify step from terms to function like the new ios app Fugue Machine. Same 16-step pattern of notes, with multiple playheads moving at different speeds, and potentially, in different directions. Is someone interested and willing to try to create such a beast? Could make for a good time…

5 Likes

i do like this idea. multiple playheads, speeds, and output routing.

4 Likes

I wish I possessed the skills required to create this, but I am only getting started using M4L objects, let alone learning to create or edit them. Anyone else have the knowledge, time, and motivation to work on this?

Definitely a cool idea.

I could see displaying multiple layers on the grid being quite easy/legible but being able to define new playheads with their direction, bounds, and speeds could be tricky.

Would it be possible to do it with an individual M4L object per playhead/track, that share the grid for display? Then control on the grid would be on whichever track/object is selected, somewhat like the experience I had using two instances of step with the same grid. I saw the two playheads moving at different speeds, and as long as the same steps were lit on both instances, grid display seemed to work. If I selected different steps on one instance then switched to the other, the playhead of the second instance would turn off the lights of the first, though the steps would still be active and reappear upon switching back to the first instance. I guess it would necessitate drawing in the same steps on each instance, though.