Cut Glove (xbox controller-based live sampling patch) beta

Ok, so I’m finally ready to share an initial beta of a patch I’ve been working on for like 6 months or so. It’s the reason why I started working on the karma~ external with raja (for those of you that saw that).

It’s basically an epic live sampling patch, somewhat similar to The Party Van, but a completely different control paradigm (an xbox controller). It’s meant for a more analog-y and dynamic control approach, with complex/deep mappings (ala video game level complexity).

It’s been more or less ready to share for a bit, but I want karma~ 1.0 to come out properly before sharing this properly too. Both will have full on releases, with videos and all that.

SO

In the meantime, give it a test drive and let me know what you think (if you find any bugs, does it make sense, does the manual make sense etc…) All the required externals are included in the download, and there’s a manual etc…

It’s mainly setup for use with the gamepad but it has the same MIDI learn functionality as The Party Van, so you can use it as it is. If you only find yourself using the wtpa modules and in/out FX in tpv, you’re going to absolutely LOVE the updated versions of them here.

http://www.rodrigoconstanzo.com/cut/cutglove_v01beta.zip

5 Likes

ps, there’s a github repo for it too (no proper “release” there yet, but if you want to track changes in the mean time).

Oh yes, it’s time to buy an Xbox controller just for this. Excellent stuff, Rodrigo!
Knowing nothing about the Xbox, what’s the exact controller needed here?

1 Like

Hehe, well worth it!

It’s this one:

US Amazon link:

UK Amazon link:

There’s a dongle you can buy so you can use the regular wireless one. If you wanna go that route, you’d need a wireless controller:

AND the little dongle:

Awesome! Thanks for the detailed links. Slightly confused about controllers being for Windows/PC. Do they work on a Mac, too?