Debugging the serialosc launched by max?

Hey folks! First time posting. Hi! I’m a programmer by trade, and have gotten into grid things for my son, who loves the blinky-button videos.

Would love some assistance debugging connecting a trellis-based arduinome to max. Some preamble:

• It’s a bunch of adafruit trellis’ connected to an arduino mega 1280.
  • Grid works and is physically fine – standard arduino sketch showed each button working & addressable as expected
  • the mac FTDI stuff is all good, i’m on el-cap, i’ve got the official FTDI kexts, etc.
  • AFAICT from inspecting the serial output, i’m speaking valid modern osc, not 40h.

So i’ve got a (physically functioning) device that’s talking osc, where i’m having trouble is tracking down what’s happening w/ serialosc and the max bridge.

• I’ve used piraterename to update the FTDI serial to something monome-like (manufacturer ‘monome’
  • I can see the grid in max using the ‘monomecereal2.0’ patch found here: https://github.com/rbnstubbs/trellis-monome/tree/master/clients . In particular, i can see the udp messages show up on localhost:8000 once i’ve turned on serialosc via the button in the monomecereal patch
  • but the grid isn’t detected by any of the monome_sum apps, or other monome apps.

So my questions are:

• how can i introspect the serialosc bridge launched (i see it via ps auxw | grep serial) from within max?
  • how is it different from the monomecereal2.0 patch?
  • how can i manually run the serialosc-device binary against my /dev/tty.USBserialblahblahblah/? --help gives me nothing, --verbose gives me nothing, they all just exit immediately w/ error code 255.

So far, max is kinda driving me crazy because i can’t see any of the log messages when things go wrong :joy:

Apologize in advance if this is all well written up somewhere, i’ve been digging through years of old docs & forum posts trying to find things that are a) current and b) applicable.