Dfu-programmer installation : windows

Hey all,

Can someone expand a bit on this line of the firmware update instructions, its the only instruction I can find for installing dfuprogrammer:

download the dfu-programmer binary from dfu-programmer.github.io.

How is this installed? I am not a programmer and am only aware of gitHub in the most basic sense. I’ve downloaded the zip file, which contains some folders and an executable. Running the executable does not install anything, but instead gives some errors. I have the feeling I that I should have some sort of environment or system software on my machine in order to install this, but I have no idea.

I could definitely use some help.
Any takers?

the zip file does not contain an installer - it contains the actual executable, which you need to run from the command line.

so what you need to do is unzip it to some folder, then copy the firmware file to that folder. then if you have windows 7/8 go to Start (or whatever it’s called now), and start typing cmd and it should come up with Command Prompt or Command Line - right click on it and choose Run As Administrator.

it will open a new window where you have to type in the following:
c: [or whatever drive you unzipped dfu programmer to]
cd [folder where you unzipped dfu programmer]
dfu-programmer at32uc3b0256 erase
dfu-programmer at32uc3b0256 flash whitewhale.hex --suppress-bootloader-mem
dfu-programmer at32uc3b0256 start

so if you have dfu programmer unzipped to d:\dfu then you will need to execute the following:
d:
cd d:\dfu

that’s it. make sure you power up the module with the front panel button pressed first.

Thanks @scanner_darkly for taking the time to write all this. I will try again tonight when I get off work! :smile:

After reading this part in the doc:

Navigate to the folder where you installed dfu-programmer

I was trying to figure out how to install it!

no problem!