DI/Transformer Boxes (for modular)

Curious what folks who drink the transformer Kool-Aid are using.

I’ve had great experiences with the Phoenix Nice DI but am looking to try something else. The RIP looks awesome obviously but I’d rather have this box sit outside the modular. Any thoughts on the new Telefunken boxes?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Coincidentally, I received my RIP yesterday.

I also happen to be an early adopter of this:

http://www.puebloaudio.com/olla---hybrid-di.html

1 Like

My setup is currently mixer-less and after fighting with signals from many different sources being too hot or too weak I ended up going with a Phoenix N-8 DI (basically a multi-channel version of the Phoenix Nice DI).

While I’m getting much cleaner recordings I do feel like I lost a bit of top end…

2 Likes

I’ve got no relevant experience to add, but I’ve had my eye on these for while:

2 Likes

Cool! Would be interested to hear how you like it.

Thanks for the OLLA link too. Hand’t heard of it!

Oh nice! Interesting about the high-end. I haven’t noticed that on the Nice DI.

@ether: I don’t know anything about the RNDI but I do have a pair of Golden Age Project Pre 73s, inspired by the Neve 1073, that I use as DIs and have found them pretty great for adding color especially. Ideally I’d like something similar but a bit more compact. (This is a portable setup I’m working on.)

@Larrea I’d be curious how the RIP sounds driven hard. Do you have pads/attenuators between the RIP and your interface?

Poking around and found this possibly relevant thread on muffs which keeps me returning to the JDI duplex as an option. Any experiences?

Incidentally, one voice on that thread argues:

The effect of a DI’s transformer will be pretty subtle. I’d say if I recorded some modular stuff through a Neve 1073 and without it, a lot of people would be hard pressed to hear the difference.