Digital Allpass Filters

I’m studying various reverb and modeling algorithms and I keep coming across various references to different varieties of allpass filters. Everything I’ve found by Googling doesn’t really seem explain how to design them or parameterize them.

Can anyone point me to any references that explain how to design and then program efficient allpass filters in C, preferably “from scratch”?

I’m also interested in how to get delay times (if I understand correctly, there’s a delay time as a key parameter of an allpass filter, right?) that are fractions of a sample.

7 Likes

I’m also very interested by the topic! I’ve been playing around with reverb designs lately and I’ve had a hard time getting allpass filters to sound interesting.

Julius Smith provides a good intro breaking down an allpass filter as two combs: https://ccrma.stanford.edu/~jos/pasp/Allpass_Filters.html. He shows the efficient way to implement an allpass with a single multiply at https://ccrma.stanford.edu/~jos/pasp/One_Multiply_Scattering_Junctions.html

A more application-oriented presentation from Jon Dattorro is here: https://ccrma.stanford.edu/~dattorro/EffectDesignPart2.pdf

The phase response of a simple allpass delay is not very flat, but it’s flattest between around 0.6 and 1.6 samples of delay. So to get a delay of an arbitrary number of samples you put an integral delay line in series with your 0.6 to 1.6 samples of allpass such that the total delay is what you want.

The allpass implementation in my own DSP library is here: https://github.com/madronalabs/madronalib/blob/master/source/DSP/MLDSPFilters.h I think it’s readable code. This is in C++ but you could easily translate it to straight C.

15 Likes

at risk of stating the obvious, you can also use linear or cubic interpolation for this.

for fractional delay D

di = floor(D)           // integer part
df = remainder(D) // fractional part in [0,1]

then

x(D) = interp_lin(x(n-(di+1), x(n-di), df)

interp_lin(x0, x1, f) {