Drums – Learning

There is a lot of wisdom over in the ‘Drums’ thread but as a new drummer I’m really interested to hear about other people’s learning journeys. (To be clear I’m talking here about playing a physical drum kit rather than a drum machine, though no doubt the line is blurred in some cases.)

I have been playing for about 6 months now. I wasn’t sure how committed I would be when I started, or how long I would persist for, but I have felt motivated to practice pretty much every day, and I’ve really enjoyed making progress. I don’t intend to stop any time soon.

My own experience has been of learning on an electronic kit, with some occasional turns on an acoustic kit. I had one face to face lesson at the beginning which was useful to an extent, but I wasn’t musically on the same page as the teacher so since then I have been learning myself using various online resources and books.

How did you learn? Any turning points in your progress? How do you practice and develop? What resources do you recommend?

One comment from a drum teacher’s video has stuck with me – we massively overestimate what we can achieve in a short period of time – and we massively underestimate what we can achieve over a long period of time. That is my experience from learning drumming so far. Seems highly relevant for other contexts too!

17 Likes

Great thread!

I’m a year in and I’m really focused on a free jazz style of playing, so probably different than some as I’m not worried about timekeeping, though I do practice a little of that and my partner and I have a few pieces that call for it.