Envelopes & Attenuation - Maths or alternatives?

I’ve been using Maths for maybe 7 months now and am more or less just using it for envelopes, and attenuation of modulations going elsewhere. I deliberately have a very small case, and am wondering about swapping the Maths for some envelope/attenuation alternatives. Obviously not as cost-effective, but I’m thinking of ergonomics (i.e. spreading these functions around the case, having finer control of attenuation than the Maths). I’m thinking mostly of:

MN Function
and/or
ALM Pip Slope

Intellijel Triatt
and/or
ALM O/A/X2

Any combination of these (maybe one of each) seem to do what I’m needing Maths for.

General thoughts? A pointless exercise? I mostly bought Maths when I was starting out because ‘everyone uses it’, and haven’t gelled much with it.

1 Like

Don’t ignore the WMD/SSF Mini-Slew. Super underrated little guy.

The WMD/SSF DPO is also handy because it sums two signals along with being a dual offset/attenuverter. The Circuit Abbey Invy is nice because the input of 1 is sent to 2 if there isn’t something plugged in. Also super handy :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I’m thinking about doing a very similar thing, although I never actually owned a Maths in the first place.

Check out the Happy Nerding 3xMIA, that’s a cool 6hp attenuverting mixer that you can do a lot with!
For envelopes, you could also look at the Intellijel Quadra (you can build a 2hp version of the expander too, if you’re that way inclined) and maybe the NLC Triad, but that doesn’t have voltage control.

The quadra, plus 2hp expander, plus 3xMIA would get you 4 AD/AR envelopes plus 3 (6 kind of) attenuverters in 20hp, not bad! I think I’m going to combine the Triad and MIA with a Befaco Rampage. That’s 3 AD/AR envelopes and 3 attenuverters in 14hp.

[DISCLAIMER- this is what i’m planning, I’ve played around with most of these, but don’t actually own them and can’t fully vouch for them]