First Monome instrument: Grid over Arc?

I’m new to Monome, and although I own nothing yet, I’m committed to beginning to explore the system.

I was set on buying an Ansible and Arc to start with, but lo, my local retailer (yes, I can walk there from work; how dangerous is THAT?) just got Ansibles in, and has a Grid.

I suppose the question is fairly self-answering, but there’s no reason to prefer getting started with an Arc over a Grid is there, now that the Arc is available?

Glad to be joining the community too!

1 Like

What kind of music do you make? That should determine the tools.

2 Likes

Good question.

It goes in a few directions I suppose, depending on project, but let’s say somewhere between temporally grounded/slowly cyclical ambient, rhythmically complex material somewhere between Steve Reich and west African drumming, and unclocked, freely played performance parts to accompany hybrid electronic and acoustically recorded pieces/songs.

I hope that helps…hard stuff to articulate.

1 Like

What attracted you to the arc & ansible to begin with? the novelty? a specific app feature?
It would be tough for me to recommend anything but arc…there is nothing like it.

It feels like the pinnacle of tehn and kelli’s work together

4 Likes

Understood. An Arc would be part of the package, but perhaps just not first.

There are a lot of things I like about what I’m seeing in the Arc, but on a really basic level, it just seems like such an inherently right thing to have; one of those things that comes along every now and then that makes me think how bloody obviously useful such a thing is; how did this not exist already, for ages, and find its way in to everyone’s workflow?

Maybe that’s more a reflection of how my mind works than anything else, but it just seems intuitively brilliant–and obvious.