Fungn - arc, cv, function utility

fungn is a simply utility for using an arc to generate control voltages. one or more encoders sweep through fixed functions… or switch to cv control. input position and output values are represented on each arc ring.

inspiration came from many places, cold mac patch surveillance, discussions on using one knob to control increasing complexity, and simply wanting a way to use an arc to control many different parts of a modular patch.

the testing has been fairly light and tool was developed with a fairly specific hardware setup:

• expert sleepers es-3 and es-6 modules
  • minidsp usbstreamer (a simple usb to adat interface)
  • monome arc 2 (an arc 4 should work)
  • max 7.1

i’m sure more can be done to make it more flexible for different configurations. this is my first attempt at building some beyond a quick hack in max so suggestions, comments, and bug reports are welcome.

the initial fungn-0.2.1 release is available on github along with all the source. i’ve attempted to build a standalone for people who don’t have max however I haven’t been able to figure out how to give it a proper icon and there is some more polish needed overall.

if you download the standalone app you’ll need to delete the quarantine attribute in order to bypass osx’s non-signed application security system:
% xattr -d com.apple.quarantine fungn.app.zip
enjoy, hopefully folks find it useful.

8 Likes

Looks great!

I have been hoping for something similar to become a module (or a firmware hack for one of the existing modules) that alows the arc4 to function as a complex envelope generator/controller. Arc has an amazing tactile quality, and peformative thrust, it would be an amazing addition to a modular environment. Much like the grid became a beautiful extension to the modular world.

what do you think @scanner_darkly ? :smile:

1 Like

yeah, will be watching this with interest - i’m particularly interested in using encoders to control complex behavior.