Gear as a job

Hi everyone,

Apologes for the category choice, not sure which one is best for this general chat. I’m just curious to hear about your career or work relationship to music, if at all. I’m pipe dreaming a bit after reinvigorating my love of music/gear after moving abroad, and find that the passion is becoming yet again quite consuming. I’d love to hear about the sort of careers, part or full time, anyone has transitioned into, like building or repairing gear, distro or sales, or anything that involves making music a bit more than a hobby. Having said that, a solid job in anything is great and hobbies are what make passion grow! Just a fun thread to pass ideas about this if anyone cares to chat. :slight_smile:

Edit: seeing others chime in with their actual jobs, I appreciate the openess to share here. I’m an esl teacher in Thailand. Really rewarding having stuck through the first few years but like others here, would love to transition into something musical/arts related…dare even linked to that creative writing degree haha.

Nice to hear from everyone here. Love this community beyonf chatting about norns scripts.

7 Likes

I went from mastering part time in 2009 to full time in 2011 and never looked back. I don’t earn nearly as much as I did when I had a “regular” job, but am much, much happier.

15 Likes

I work as a consultant for synth manufacturers and do tons of beta testing on the side. Sometimes this can be a negative experience since you can’t let your creative side win over focused testing on a specific module. But then again I work with tons of super nice people who make amazing things and that is just ace. Not a full-time job though, even though I sometimes work more on that than is healthy. I’m trying to transition to game audio but there simply aren’t enough hours in a day.

6 Likes

when I had a “regular” job

What was your “regular” job, if you don’t mind me asking?