/grid/led/level/map x_off y_off l[64] and ring/map n l[64] equivalents on Norns

Hi
I’m new to Norns. Previously i’d had a little experience using arc and grid with my Kyma system - passing osc (through Osculator) back and forth. The messages I commonly used were the [64] member arrays for addressing the intensity of each led:

/grid/led/level/map x_off y_off l[64]
and
ring/map n l[64]

These seemingly have no equivalent in Norns territory, where i’m restricted to using g:led and a:led for single leds ,the g/a:all for setting everything to the same or, for Arc only, the a:segment message for a range of segments.

Is there a reason that the /map approach isn’t available in Norns? I found it really useful.

I’m sure i can figure out a way round it but curious as to the thinking behind it.

Many thanks
Geoff

IIRC, grid:refresh() is sending the map command

grid:led is setting individual pixels, but just in the buffer - it’s not immediately set - until you send a refresh.

arc:range is missing. I can’t remember why I left that out when doing the initial arc integration.

and just to add to this question please. I think the following script (albeit convoulted) should work to map the argument coming in as osc message /grid/1/1 to gridx1y1 which itself should determine the intensity in g:led(1,1,gridx1y1) but this doesn’t seem to work. Some pointers of where i’m going wrong would be greatly appreciated to set me off…still figuring out osc in Norns a bit!

function init()
gridx1y1 = 0
end

function osc_in(path, args, from)
if path == “/grid/1/1” then
gridx1y1 = args[1]
elseif path == “/grid/2/1” then
gridx2y1 = args[1]
else
print(path)
tab.print(args)
end
print("osc from " … from[1] … " port " … from[2])

osc.event = osc_in
end

g = grid.connect()
g.key = function(gridx,gridy,gridz)
g:led(1,1,gridx1y1)
g:refresh()
dest = {“192.168.1.58”,8000}
osc.send(dest, “/gkey”, {gridx, gridy, gridz})
end

Thanks - so the grid:refresh() can take 64 (or 128) arguments?