Hardware DSP effect? Opinions needed

Hello Lines and liners!
I discovered this beautiful board some months ago, and I decided to subscribe now because I need some suggestions.

I am a 30yo musician, with poor technical knowledge.
I thought with a friend about producing an effect pedal (imagine a very small box like Boss “classic” guitar pedals) capable of loading and running MaxMSP or PD Fx patches standalone (from simple delays and reverbs to crazy audio processing things), and with a great Digital->Analog converter in it, so to give a nice “warmth” to the DSP.
We did some researches on the net and we found some nice existing similar projects, but not so known as they probabily deserve.

So my questions are:

• would a pedal like this (even with a nice “analog” output in such a small box) be possible to be actually produced?
  • if it existed, would you prefer Max over PD, for patching? (As I think Max is much more common, right?)
  • would you be interested in this hypothetical product? if “hmm”, why?
  • why products like this are hardly developed / why they can’t find so much interest in musicians communities?

Thanks a lot for your answers!

A.

Do you know of the OWL Pedal? It’s pretty much what you describe - small form factor, can load dsp-effects in the form of C++, max, pd and faust (and maybe more? those are all I know about).

Yes, I discovered it within my researches. So the question is why this isn’t a widely used machine, even in more “skilled” and “technical/geek” or “experimental” environments?

I think these sorts of products are less successful because they hit a strange uncanny valley of being fiddly to get your code onto (win for the computer) and not as powerful as a computer (also win for the computer). There are a number of really similar things available, like the Rebel Tech OWL, mentioned above, and Mod Devices also make stuff in the same vein.