How should I start, Cello + PO-12 + PO-20

Dear All,

I am new to sound and just started to learn cello 2 months ago. I would like to know how to to capture the sound of cello and mix with the Pocket Operators, for example, I would like to record 10 notes of the cello to “Machine A” and I can just press the keys of “Machine A” and I am not sure in “Machine A” can output the sound of the cello and POs.

Now I have a cello, PO-12, PO-20, a mac and a olympus.
It will be great if anyone can suggest what would be the machine A and what would be the logic to connect them.

Thank you!

Hi there,
That’s pretty awesome that you’re learning the cello!
To capture the sound of your cello your going to need a microphone of some kind. It could be a regular mic on a mic stand or else you could could get a pick-up mic which would clip on to your cello. So then this mic would plug in to your “machine A”.
As to what your “machine A” is, well it could be a looper pedal. In it’s simplest function, you tap the looper pedal with your foot to start recording and play a phrase on your cello, then tap the pedal again and the recording stops but the looper plays back what you recorded and loops it continuously (until you tell it to stop!).
There’s probably whole forums or sub forums on looper pedals and related techniques I’ve never owned one myself but for starters I know Boss make a range of them https://www.boss.info/us/categories/loop_station/ and also Electro-Harmonix have a bunch too http://www.ehx.com/browse/delay-loopers.
From there then you need to mix the signals from the cello/looper and your Pocket Operators together. Any simple mixer would work. You could have a search around this forum to see what mixers people are using in small setups.

Hope this helps you to get started.

2 Likes

what exactly is the “olympus”?

“Machine A” could also simply be your mac you already have, with something like ableton intro.