How To Buy a Piano

Hi friends. One of my 2021 goals is to finally buy an acoustic piano that I love playing. Virtual instruments are amazing, but I want to reach out and touch something.

I know that we have more than a few seasoned pianists among us, so I wanted to ask: how should I go about buying an upright piano?

It will be a studio instrument, not a showpiece. I’d like the option of felting it from time to time.

We have two local stores where I live, one that deals Steinway and Kawai, and one that specializes in Yamaha.

I am initially drawn to the Yamaha U series.

But please, guide me!

10 Likes

Oh and, bonus points if you’d like to recommend a stereo set of mics.

I have a beautiful old Baldwin Acrosonic that my neighbor gave to me for free and the only cost was hiring some people to move it. I’m not an expert, but there are a lot of old pianos out there that people are just waiting to get rid of, so check your local craigslist, facebook marketplace, or ebay local pickup. You may have to pay to move and tune it, but that’s way way less than buying a new one.

7 Likes

if you’re buying a new piano, or a lightly used one from a reputable shop, then it’s not super complicated. get the instrument that sounds good to you and know that you’ll have to pay for a tuning a few times as it acclimates to your studio.

most of the challenge of buying a piano comes when you’re attempting to buy something cheaply and trying to figure out if it has some wear that will make normal playing or upkeep much more difficult/impossible. you can find some amazing used stuff at great prices, but it comes with much more risk. a modern upright should be just fine for all this stuff unless someone has treated it very roughly.

the feedback and touch of a true mechanical action makes such a difference, you’ll love it.

1 Like