How to get started writing an AudioUnit plugin?

Hello again, I’m curious as to how I would begin learning how to write an AudioUnit plugin. I’m a professional programmer in Ruby, with past experience in a variety of other languages (although my C is very rusty by now), so programming itself is not a problem. I’m just not sure what the best way to learn the build system, how to set up a project, and some good tutorials for developing both the interface and the algorithm implementations that might be useful in such a tool.

Where should I start and what build environment / toolkit / etc. would be most worth learning if I want to turn this into something more serious/professional in the future?

1 Like

Unfortunately Apple’s AU documentation is a nightmare to get started with on its own. I would recommend starting with a friendly cross-platform layer like JUCE (also see its github) or WDL/iPlug.

Both of these frameworks are good routes to making professional work in the future. Both are oriented towards C++ because C++ is overwhelmingly the choice of audio programming professionals. You could look at some ADC Conference videos to get a feel for the current mainstream of audio developer culture.

6 Likes

Hello, it could be worth taking a look at Plug’n’Script by Blue Cat Audio.

It’s not a complete solution like the suggestions above but it seems pretty great for testing out ideas quickly. I just picked it up yesterday after spending some time with the demo.

Wow, WDL/iPlug looks really fantastic. JUCE did interest me from previous research, but their fees are rather high for something I don’t anticipate would earn me very much initially. I’ll try iPlug and see how far I get. My main concern is the UI - how does one “do” a UI in C++ for these sorts of projects? Mostly I need just the basics: knobs, text fields, dropdowns, and the like.