Ideas for a DIY performance controller

I am quite new to performing with the modular synth. After a couple of performances I see it as something I definitely want to develop but at the same time I find it quite frustrating not having more immediate and tactile/expressive ways of interacting with the system. I looked at many eurorack controllers (pressure points etc.) but they are either too primitive for what I’m looking, too attached to the traditional keyboard paradigm with all its good/bad sides or simply too expensive.

I’m putting together a portable system that fits in a suitcase and therefore I’m in need of a controller that will serve a couple of functions without requiring extra modules/devices.

I will probably end up building something myself, therefore I’d be very interested to see what you think about my ideas. I do realise the design of the controller affects the way of playing - Don Buchla definitely got it right with his keyboard controllers - they feel like a part of the instrument.

What I’m looking for is a keyboard like controller which is:

• polyphonic,
  • somewhat similar in layout to the ordinary piano keyboard but with a few more keys in an octave for microtunings (particularly I like the idea of 22 or 23 keys - I am interested in the modern indian ‘22 shruti’ system of pitches).
  • flat and non mechanical,
  • pressure sensitive (like Buchla 208)
  • possibly position sensitive (like Buchla 222e)
  • additional keys for transposing/accessing functions etc.
  • with a few additional long ribbon like surfaces for crossfading, continuous pitch/CV etc.

In terms of the functionality I’d like:

• USB OSC (possibly MIDI)
  • also CV outs,
  • arpeggiator (similar to what can be achieved in Buchla 208)
  • simple recorder/sequencer (similar to Synthi AKS - records a live sequence of notes from the keyboard and loops it; the sequence can be transposed or the tempo changed).