Introduction and Questions

Hello
I am in the planning stages of a Modular rig that will make use of the Monome line of modules. I wish i would have found this group a bit earlier. I have been coding and teaching Max/MSp/Jitter & Pd for about 7 years so i am hopeful i can marry these methodologies for a new compositional prerogative. I would love some feedback on what the essentials for getting started would be if you have time to recommend i would be overjoyed. I am assuming the need to a Grid controller, the Ecosystem, possibly the switch and certainly one or two of the companion modules like easthsea and the white whale. Would that be a proper place to start? My interest is piqued with the rhizomatic references in some of the descriptions and listening to some of the examples of what is being produced assures me i am in the right place. my name is patrick and i am a digital media researcher and educator at a large southern football school with plans of escape this year so i welcome comment and critique upon my technological plans

cheers~
Patrick

Hey. I’d take a look at some of the small systems you see posted here as well as spending some time on muffwiggler. Building a system tends to be a very personal thing. But you can always use someone else system as a starting point if you enjoy the sounds coming from there.

Thanks for the reply Michael, I have two systems I have made so far both explore chaos to a degree as my recent research has led me to the lyapunov equation and fractal systems. The system I am in the planning stage on is here
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/264631

Of course the grid is not shown. Can you share what yours is if you don’t mind? I have been on “muffs” about a year and like I shared glad to find this forum

looking awesome!

2 arrangement issues:

• I’d put the teletype on the lower row, since cables would otherwise cover the screen too much (it will eventually get messy, but potentially less…)