Is it possible to use OSC or midi in place of K1-3, E1-3?

hey there. have looked up and down the forum for anything about this and didn’t really have any luck.

this is just a thought that has come to mind a few times while using my norns shield. i have it hooked up in a way so i can see it nicely, but it’s a bit of a stretch over my desk to fiddle with the encoders and keys. when im using the encoders and keys frequently it can get pretty tedious. of course, i could just set it up so that its closer to me, but i was curious if it’s even a possibility to map the functions that K1-3, E1-3 accomplish to some sort of external control surface.

1 Like
  • /remote/enc n delta
  • /remote/key n z

here’s the handler in lua, if interested

(@dan_derks doc note)

9 Likes

sorry to bump this- im just a complete noob when it comes to this stuff. have been fiddling around for a while and can’t seem to come up with a solution.

what might be the reason i’m not seeing any activity on norns? this is way i have the path written in touchosc.

i tried changing path and data to the following as well after digging around in the docs for a while:

/remote/enc 1 delta
/remote/enc 1 d

here’s the output i get in maiden

clockwise:

incoming osc message from	table: 0x6350e0	/remote/enc 0 delta
1	1.0

counter-clockwise:

incoming osc message from	table: 0x50bc80	/remote/enc 0 delta
1	-1.0

any help is appreciated, sorry if the answer is staring me right in the face

Try a number for delta

yeah, i had tried that too. i may have been inputting an invalid value of sorts when trying that though

your syntax looks correct, but whatever OSC sender you’re using might be doing something wrong— what app is that? have you tried a different one? can you successfully use the same app to control any other norns params? (see the docs)