Jazz

Surprised such a thread didn’t already exist so here’s to starting one!

I’ve recently been diving into listening to the Jazz classics that I never took the time to really listen to growing up or in college, as well as some more modern stuff, and have been loving it. Berklee gave me a pretty solid education on jazz theory, and I studied some basic Jazz piano (Bill Evans mostly) with Yoko Miwa for a few years. But a lot of this technical knowledge has since faded from my brain. And I think this is why I’ve been really enjoying my first real explorations of this genre, and probably why a lot of musicians like it. Most of the time I really don’t know what’s going on- it’s so foreign and fresh, every note is a surprise. It’s helping to break down some mental barriers and ruts I’ve been in harmonically and melodically. It’s a breath of fresh air.

I would love to hear some of everyone’s favorites and/or recommendations for anchors or good places to start for a somewhat beginning listener. It’s such a deep, varied, and complex genre that it can be hard to know where to begin.

Here’s just a few things I’ve been really enjoying:

14 Likes

Just happy that I’ll get to be the first to post some Rahsaan Roland Kirk

Keep them coming, I’ll like this thread I’m sure.

8 Likes

Also surprised that such a thread did not already exist! Recently finished this book, highly recommend it. Written by a fantastic photographer who was heavily involved in the scene.

Currently listening to:

A bit early for what I usually listen to, but the playing/lineup are top notch.
3 Likes
2 Likes

yes!

slow burn:

have wanted to sample the opening low frequency notes from this song forever:

all things alice coltrane (seriously worth a deep dive esp the culty/synth stuff):

and Henri Texier:

8 Likes
3 Likes
8 Likes

I love that Coltrane&Hartman album.

And closest to home
Wave

Never short of a cover.

6 Likes

Yay! OMG of course Art Ensemble:

12 Likes
4 Likes