Just Type: Explorations

This is quite basic, and I’m still very new to the ecosystem of Just Type, but man I’m having a lot of fun and the potential is bursting wide open. Here its doing tempo-synced random triggering and random pitches within a set scale, param setting the max range of the pitches. Pretty incredible what you can do with just these two modules, and this patch is using up just 1 script in the scene, and no outputs.

ALSO: perhaps there should be an actual “Just Type clips/patch ideas” thread separate from this one?

24 Likes

another Just Type exploration, this time running through T-Wrex and Twinpeak

7 Likes

I made a little one-script, 4-stage ASR scene this morning for Just Type, driven by Ansible Earthsea. So much fun to riff on something with the grid, and then get immediate ASR magic with extended control via Earthsea’s runes.

DEL 20: JF.VOX 1 QT IN N 1 V X
PN.INS 0 0 IN; PN.L 0 4
JF.VOX 2 QT PN 0 1 N 1 V X
JF.VOX 3 QT PN 0 2 N 1 V X
JF.VOX 4 QT PN 0 3 N 1 V X
X RRAND 2 10

Evidently, it’s pretty simple, and I’m sure there are ways to clean up the code – suggestions welcome! Gate 1 and CV 1 from Ansible are sent to TT input 1 and In, respectively. The first line of the script samples the CV from Ansible, with a short delay for better accuracy. Line 2 inserts the incoming CV value to a pattern, and sets the length of the pattern to 4. The remaining JF voices simply read their specified index value in the pattern (1-3) as the incoming CV value from Earthsea pushes the previous ones down.

https://soundcloud.com/creurer/just-type-asr

EDIT: In the recording above, I think I only had 2 JF voices going instead of 4. Oops.

p.s. To any moderators reading: I also agree with @n-So that a dedicated thread for Just Type explorations might be needed at this point, for the sake of clarity. Perhaps something like Just Type: Sounds, Code & Ideas? Happy to create if it feels appropriate/beneficial.

19 Likes