Landscape FM Noon

I just got my Noon in the mail this last week, and it is an absolutely amazing and singular machine that’s doing things I’ve never experienced in ways that I’ve never done them before. I thought there might be other folks who might want to discuss the instrument and their methods with it.

Thus far I’ve been feeding the Noon gates from Tempi and some Square LFOs from Batumi, and I’ve been playing with sending the device through my SYNTRX and then through my Retromechanical Labs Jekyll n Hyde dual filter box, mostly just because this is where an opening in my signal chain at the moment, but also because I thought it would lead to some interesting results.

How are other folks getting along with the Noon? I urge you to share own experiences, methods and results with the instrument here.

EDIT: I added a short clip from an Insta story that I shared; apologies for the quality.

28 Likes

I’m anxiously awaiting mine! Thanks for sharing the vid - there haven’t been many video examples of drones being created with this beast yet.

3 Likes

On paper it’s a passive drum synthesizer, in practice it’s feeling like it’s a lot more than that though.

At the core of the experience there are a lot of opportunities for chaotic and inconsistent behavior, and what feels and sounds like a lot of what I’ve experienced before in “voltage starving” in distortion circuits. All of this is built around a rhythmic paradigm, but even that idea that this is a “rhythm making” instrument is seemingly nothing more a suggestion as this this is just as capable at accepting continuous voltages as it is triggers or gates.