Liblo error 9914 in Path

Hello all! New to Norns and the community. Recently got my Norns, and quickly went into maiden to install many of the amazing scripts I have seen. Recently when I connect Norns to maiden, I keep receiving the following error in the matron repl:

“Liblo error 9914 in path (null): invalid message path”

The message I am very new to this and have no coding experience but want to learn. What is causing this error and how can I fix?

Thank you all in advance!

i’ve literally never seen this error— so this is a novelty.

but i’d simply suggest you do a fresh install (given this is certainly a used unit), see instructions here: help | monome/docs

let me know if it persists.

Thanks for the reply. It really is quite unusual. I picked the unit up from the last batch of a builder on Reverb. Error was not there the first few times I’ve connected to maiden. After installing some more scripts, I started to notice it. Good news I guess is it is not really effecting anything as far as I can tell. I will get a good micro as card and flash the fresh firmware. Keep you posted if that solves it!

How queer – i just saw that error this week while coding something on norns but don’t remember what it was… I remember i solved it though. I’m not being useful but I’m writing this in hopes it will activate my brain to remember what it was…

EDIT 💆 yes i got this message when I was trying to send OSC messages from Puredata to norns over UDP protocol, without passing them through the [packOSC] object which turns OSC message such as /cutoff 666 to binary. Using the [packOSC] fixed it.

Are you using OSC messages, or do you have something on the same WIFI which might be sending OSC messages to norns?

2 Likes

I am glad you thought of that. Pardon my ignorance as I am very new to this. But the error did start to occur when I paired my organelle with Norns over WiFi to sync. That would be the only thing I can think of that could have caused this.