Live Looping with monome 256

Hello everyone. I do a lot of live looping, and since I have gotten into the monome world, I was wondering what the best way to loop live instruments through the grid would be. (if that makes sense) I am wanting to use something like mlrv, while adding live instruments to the mix. I’m still a beginner with the monome, so I apologize in advance if my question is a bit off.

Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

2 Likes

I don’t use mlrV, but i am pretty sure you can record in it.

I was in the habit of doing this somewhat regularly with mlr_cyst around 2010/2011. I always had the best results running that in Max 4.6 though – it was somewhat unstable in Max 5. I haven’t had a reason to try it in Max 7 since I don’t have a 256 anymore (and since I’m using Block Party regularly now).

If your computer is up for it, it would be pretty straight-forward to add another 8 rows to block party

I’ll definitely give mlr_cyst a try. Problem i have with mlrv and mlr_cyst, is that everytime i load a sample, for example, at 90bpm, i have to crank the tempo up to 180 for it to sound right. The tempos are all out of whack. Also, how would i go about looping live instruments with mlr_cyst?

geez, i just realized that i don’t think i even know where to find the last version of it anymore. it should have a file called _mlr_cyst_live.mxb (or similar), but the latest one i can find in the archives doesn’t have it…

that was a variant that changed some of the grid features… if i remember right, i replaced the loop in the bottom row with buffer controls, and i think the bottom-right button triggered recording.

and actually, thinking about it a bit more, it’s probably going to be wayyyy more effort than its worth to try to get that working (does max 4.6 even run on today’s operating systems?)