Live sample cutting for video?

Asking here because I’m not sure what to google, is there a tool like mlr for video as well? I.e. will play video samples you can jump around in

4 Likes

Paging Dr @egon77 who is a wizard at all this!

2 Likes

Not sure if Charlie’s 64 (Video) Fingers app ever got ported to norns, but this is the only thing I can think of that does live video sample cutting.

2 Likes

Omg I remember this!

1 Like

TouchDesigner, Jitter (part of Max), and Resolume are all capable of this sort of “video sampler” duty. Resolume offers a familiar clip launcher interface and is probably your best bet. All three programs have a node-based patching environment but in Resolume it’s only used for baking effects for the main app (called Arena, or Avenue, depending on license) rather than writing whole apps.

(i’m a video noob so take this with :salt:)

Probably not what you’re looking for, but it’s a fun little tool:
https://livecodingyoutube.github.io/

A livecoding project - kind of similar to Hydra - for looping and mixing YT videos on the fly.

2 Likes

Haha, I was just looking for this functionality the other day! I came up empty but will be keeping a keen eye on this thread and will share anything helpful I can find. I’m also open to non-monome solutions, but something monome would be even nicer :slight_smile:

There is also this device, a visual sampler from Roland:

If you have a spare £800 or more you can buy a used one.

1 Like

Ha! No 64Videofingers is just a one shot video sampler which nowadays only responds to midi. (no more serial monome control :frowning: ) And no jumping around in a single clip like MLR but you must pull several individual clips. Btw, I might as well drop it here. 64Videofingers is quite different now compared to the one available in the archive here. For those who are interested here are some links.

64Videofingers for Max 8: Box

A tutorial video I made which shows how to use it: 64Videofingers Tutorial - YouTube