Loops recorded by midi sync

Hey all,

I’m new to Norns + Grid, and loving it so far.

I’ve been on the Octatrack since 2014 and last year, on the Blackbox (that one’s still around, I see myself working the BBox into my workflow as I’ve learned the Norns + Grid well enough). A big deal for me is synced recordings through midi, where I for example build a loop somewhere - in a drum machine, a synth or whatnot - and launch recording from the Octatrack or Blackbox through midi sync, allowing me to create perfect start and end points. The Blackbox does this best, though the Octatrack is not bad, either.

One thing that I find missing on Norns as a platform, and I’m not finding it in any of the scripts I’ve tried either, is something similar to this.

For example - I got a great loop going in Awake. I want to record a perfect start and end point for this, within the Norns environment. Tape, however, seems to work just like a … well, tape :slight_smile: it records when I press Start, it stops when I press Stop. Should I want to use this loop in say Reels, I need to trim it accordingly if perfect timing is a thing for me.

The same seems to be true for scripts that allow for their own internal recording, such as Takt and Reels. While they record or sample just fine, I can’t tell it to start at a precise trigger and / or end at one. I need to work with them old school style, trim them as the scripts allow, and deal with it.

Now, I’m fine with this and don’t consider this an issue. I’m posting this here because -

Am I understanding this right? In general, synced recording to Tape for the purpose of perfect start and end points isn’t a thing?

And in general, scripts don’t support this but lean more towards improvisation, jamming and such? Note that I’m new and still exploring, so I’m well aware my knowledge and skills on what’s out there, is on a rookie level, at best.