Lurker Inventory: Coming Out

So, I’ve recently learned to call how I mostly interact with this site “lurking.” :smile: Makes sense. I also recently got curious about how many of us are out there in the shadows. Fellow lurkers: Who are you? Why do you follow this site? What is useful/interesting/engaging/attractive for/to you about the site and community? Please share!

My experience so far is that this place is very unusual, if not unique, in its dedication to both art and community. The folks here really just care about making beautiful things (mostly sound things, but not exclusively) and interacting with other people who feel the same way. Not that my experience is extensive, but I’ve never found an online community that pursues those activities with the level of enthusiasm and respect (kindness, compassion, support…) that I’ve seen here.

That’s especially important for me. I was a musician back in the 70s and early 80s and quit due to some really bad experiences (mostly of my own making). Reopening myself to making music again, starting about 10 years ago, has been deeply rewarding, but also emotionally risky; having access to a community of serious musicians who are mutually respectful and encouraging to each other has been an indispensable part of my working through the old stuff that kept me away from my old passion. Although I’ll never get to Carnegie Hall (not without buying a ticket, anyway), the love and exploration of music I’ve seen and heard here has helped me reconnect with that part of my soul that leapt the first time I heard my father play Wendy Carlos’ arrangement of Monteverdi’s Orfeo Suite.

I’m writing this now in part as a commitment to myself to engage more directly in this community, to lurk less and to play more. Any other lurkers out there want to come out?