M4L - Pluck (v1.0.1, need people to test!)

Hey everyone,
I’m starting to begin the process of converting some of my Max/MSP patches into functional Max For Live devices for myself and all others interested. This is my first attempt, it’s a device titled Pluck: the Grainular Resonance Gate. It’s a rather abstract idea that I’ve found produces very interesting results. It purposefully abuses the resonance of the lores~ object when it is pushed to 0.95% through 0.99%, which produces beautiful lo-pass gate like sounds when it is fed very low speed oscillators or audio triggers. I’ve used the adc~ object with my audio interface to process triggers from my modular system, but in the object I’m using a saw~ oscillator at a very low rate to produce the triggers. The oscillator is also running into a threshold trigger, which bangs out random numbers and begins recording the sounds into a buffer. The buffer can then be manipulated upon playback. The sounds are run into a delay line and reverb for extra ambiance (careful not running the reverb higher than a few notches, the reverb gets pretty gnarly really quick). I know my graphic design has a few flaws (I can’t get seem to get rid of the grey space on the sides), but I’d really love some constructive criticism from some Ableton/M4L users and creators. Let me know what you think, and how you think I could go about improving it. Thanks to anyone and everyone who takes a look/listen, I really appreciate it! :slight_smile:

Pluck.amxd (30.8 KB)

NEWER VERSION

5 Likes

Haven’t played with the actual device, but in my own recent experiments with M4L device making, I can recommend this document:

Mainly to due with naming all of your parameters well, giving them an order, and modulation type, and annotations, so it is easy to use them inside Live.

1 Like

Oh wow that’s a lot of good stuff to go through. When I go and update it I’m gonna make sure to test it for all of those things! Thanks rodrigo!

Fun patch thanks for sharing!