Maintaining Your Corporeal Form [exercise thread]

like many of you, my day job is at a desk.
like some of you (probably), i don’t get enough physical exercise.

every time i hear about one of my coworkers battling back pain or dealing with some other ailment that is somehow tied to inactivity a voice in my head tells me to get in shape or at least exercise a little bit to stave off injuries that will adversely affect my quality of life. but usually that voice fades by the evening, and i don’t do anything about it. the voice has been in my head for a couple days now, so i think i’m finally going to put together a bit of a “workout plan” i can do in 20-30 minutes each morning.

how do you maintain your corporeal form?

i’ll start: i’ve always hated “working out” and avoided the gym like the plague, but it’s seeming like some maintenance exercise is necessary looking forward. i’m currently researching exercises i can do at home to work out my legs, back, and arms.

3 Likes

Pretty much in the same situation here :slight_smile: And I also hate the gym or working out. I started yoga a few months ago and tries to have regular sessions (not always successfully, especially this last month as I’ve been travelling a lot).

Doing “exercise” in general is very hard for me because it’s doesn’t feel enjoyable. Moving more, going to the park, visiting museums, etc helps. It’s not comparable to a workout but it increases the overall weekly physical activity.

1 Like

I’m a huge fan of exercise. I’ve been a runner for many years. I usually aim for about 20 miles/week. Lately I’ve been trying to work more calisthenics and some strength training into my routine.

Exercise isn’t enjoyable for anyone who doesn’t do it regularly. The key is habituation. Instead of worrying about how much you’re doing in each session, focus on having those sessions with great frequency and regularity. Then you’ll be able to build up from there.