Mannequins Mangrove Dead spots?

Hello,

I’m having what may/may not be an issue with a Mangrove I picked up used recently and ya’ll seem to be pretty knowledgeable, whereas I am new to Eurorack and only sort of know what I’m doing. While messing around with my Mangrove, I came upon a dead spot with the knobs positioned as shown in my attachment. It’s just silent.

I’m just droning the Formant out into a Optomix and out to my mixer, no envelopes or anything else. I’ll get sound back if I turn these knobs individually, but leave everything else like the picture:

-Move Air CCW past 3:00
-Move Barrel CCW past Noon
-Move Formant CW past 9:00

Is this normal behavior or did I get a dud? I’ve emailed Mannequins, but I’m sure he’s busy with whatever W/ is (WHAT IS IT?!) Thanks in advance.

Update: So, yeah, that’s by design. Thanks to everybody for their advice.

This is normal yeah, once air goes CCW past noon it starts heading towards silence. If you turn that CW sound comes back right?

Thanks for your reply. I have Air completely CW, so I figured it’d be louder if anything?

And sorry, I had my positions backwards. I meant 3:00 for Air and 9:00 for Formant

Think of Mangrove as a pulse generator rather than a standard VCO. Pitch controls how often a pulse is triggered. Formant sets the width of the pulses (lower = longer). Barrel sets the shape of the pulses as panel graphics indicate. Air sets the amplitude of the pulses with some progressively harder clipping.

One consequence of this behavior is that Mangrove’s output often has a strong DC offset.

The mode switch controls whether Formant width scales with Pitch. In constant wave mode, your per period waveform will be identical. In constant Formant mode the width of the pulses are unaffected.

Now here’s the special Mangrove flavor: If the falling edge of a pulse intersects a steeper leading edge of the next pulse, there will be a Formant width multiplication. Yum.