Middle Eastern and West Asian Music

This is a thread for discussion of “Middle Eastern and West Asian Music” which is open-ended.

Do you play it?

Do you listen to it?

Share your loves and tips, and let’s see where this goes.

I am a very slow-learning student of the oud, and I am very interested in the intersection between Middle Eastern Music and electronics.

If that sounds fun, check out the great oud player and singer Kamilya Jubran http://www.kamilyajubran.com. Her work with Werner Hasler is really nice, as is her solo work.

Other favorites include Hossein Behroozinia http://www.behroozinia.com and Dhafer Youssef http://www.dhaferyoussef.com

I look forward to learning from you!

21 Likes

I listen to it about 1/3 of the time I’m listening to music, especially “Persian classical.” I’ve been listening to a streaming persian classical station called Radio Darvish for 15 or so years, though the stream barely works anymore. There is also Radio Golha, an archive of performances that aired on Iranian radio between 1956 & 1979.

Other stuff that’s more or less “Middle Eastern”:
Aşiq Edalet of Azerbaijan
El Remsh El Tawil by Mohammed Abdu from Saudi
Abdallah Chahine of Lebanon and his 1/4 tone piano
Neşet Ertaş of Turkey
Dariush Dolat-Shahi from Iran – Persian instruments and electronics

And an amazing performance from Turkey, Özgür Baba, complete with far away gunshots, chickens, and a curious/apathetic cat.

Some day I’ll get around to getting a Santoor and Setar, maybe a Saz as well.

8 Likes

In the context of Iranian music, it’s hard to overestimate the importance of the singer Mohammad Reza Shajarian. He passed away just over two weeks ago, sadly, at the age of 80. He is 73 in this one, but… well, listen to it.

17 Likes

Thanks for this thread. I am now listening to Ghareeba by Kamilya Jubran. Perfect late evening music. Great tip.

1 Like

I’ve just started reading Inside Arabic Music, written by the maker of the very useful www.maqamworld.com website.