MIDI Channel Mode 4 versus MPE - what's the difference?

I’ve been working with MIDI since about 1984 or 1985, including both hardware design and software development. Some time after 1987, I bought a used Casio MG-510 MIDI guitar and learned about Mode 4 and its ability to allow independent pitch bend of separate synthesizer notes on each string of the guitar, while also allowing global controls that affect all channels. It seems that Dave Smith imagined the possibilities way back at the beginning of MIDI - possibilities that are finally becoming available in many forms today.

What I don’t understand is all the buzz today around MPE. I have read the specification many times over the years, and while it does seem to be improving it also seems to miss out on many of the features that already exist in MIDI.

I could get into feature-by-feature details of how “MPE” already exists without requiring any changes to the original MIDI 1.0 Specification, but I think I’ll leave those details for later articles in this thread.

Instead, I’ll start with one basic question:

Why isn’t everyone simply using MIDI Channel Mode 4 for all of the multi-touch pressure-sensitive controllers that are on the market today?
In other words, what does Mode 4 lack that is (a) absolutely necessary for MPE, or (b) even marginally useful.