Modular World Anniversary Show: May 8/9

Johno Wells is putting on an epic show for the one year anniversary of his Modular World program:

Quite a few of us on llllllll have work in the show.
Many participants will be doing short live interviews with Johno after their work is played.

all times approximate:

Saturday, May 8:

12 NOON Pacific, 3PM Eastern, 7PM GMT
Gerald Fjord - US - ( @GeraldFjord )
Marie Ann Hedonia - US
Mylar Melodies - UK - ( @mylarmelodies )
Silent Strike - Romania

1PM Pacific, 4PM Eastern, 8PM GMT
Jungle of Wires - Netherlands
TÆT - Russia
DUB station ZERO - US
P.O.B. - US

2PM Pacific, 5PM Eastern, 9PM GMT
Postulous - US
Frae-Frae: Daughter of Drexciya - US
ioflow - US - ( @ioflow )
r beny - US - ( @rbeny )
3PM Pacific, 6PM Eastern, 10PM GMT
Elin Piel - Sweden - ( @elin_piel )
Sequenox - US
Alias Zone - US
John McKenna - US
Tangled Waves - Canada

4PM Pacific, 7PM Eastern, 11PM GMT
Ramón Amezcua - Mexico
Trovarsi - US
OSC-1-Nation - US
TADA - US

5PM Pacific, 8PM Eastern, 12AM GMT
Monoscene - US
Bachelard - Canada - ( @bachelard )
Thynk - US - ( @thynk )
Walker Farrell - US - ( @walker )
6PM Pacific, 9PM Eastern, 1AM GMT
DJ CherishTheLuv - US
Kako Guzman - US
Dysonant - US - ( @dysonant )
Saddle Up the Robots - US - ( @Saddleuptherobots )
7PM Pacific, 10PM Eastern, 2AM GMT
VoltageCtrlR - US - ( @voltage_controller )
Morphacoustic - US
Space Racer - US
IIITAIII - US

8PM Pacific, 11PM Eastern, 3AM GMT
electric.kitchen - US - ( @mzero )
Drum & Lace - US
Sarah Belle Reid - US
The B-roll - US - ( @egon77 )

9PM Pacific, 12PM Eastern, 4AM GMT
Navicore - US
Marci.DH - US
Jnatra - US
Mark Mosher - US

10PM Pacific, 1AM Eastern, 5AM GMT
Nasty Nachos - US
BboyTech - US
Snakes of Russia - US
earth_626 - US

11PM Pacific, 2AM Eastern, 6AM GMT
KIN - S. Korea
Patrick Donze - Singapore
Baséput - Indonesia - ( @Baseput )
r.domain - Australia

Sunday, May 9:

12PM Pacific, 3AM Eastern, 7AM GMT
the soul science - Japan
Pulpit - Turkey
TakCharkh - Iran
Amphiprion - Germany
Johannes Karkia - Finland

1AM Pacific, 4AM Eastern, 8AM GMT
Tunegirl - Germany
xandr.vasiliev - Russia
a773 - Denmark - ( @a773 )
Arthur Hnatek - Switzerland

2AM Pacific, 5AM Eastern, 9AM GMT
Tulpa Dusha - Netherlands
Cinematic Laboratory - Netherlands
Jens Paldam - Denmark
Mike Lee Birds - Netherlands
Night on Mars - UK

3AM Pacific, 6AM Eastern, 10AM GMT
Allert Alders - Netherlands
Koyl - France - ( @koyl )
Sendepause - Netherlands - ( @sendepause )
Paul Tas - Netherlands

4AM Pacific, 7AM Eastern, 11AM GMT
Analog Monoxide - Norway
Death Whistle - Spain
Little Ambient Machine - Netherlands
Angelia - France

5AM Pacific, 8AM Eastern, 12PM GMT
etchasketch - Wales
Probbie - UK
Kerblamski - US
OSSA - US
Kitty Xiao - Australia

6AM Pacific, 9AM Eastern, 1PM GMT
Calytrix - US - ( @Calytrix )
Renku Corporation - US
Rick Batyr - US
Michelle Osis - Canada

7AM Pacific, 10AM Eastern, 2PM GMT
Moxy Martinez - US
Blakmoth - US
Dream Chambers - US
5tok3 - US

8AM Pacific, 11AM Eastern, 3PM GMT
Eden Grey - US
Aqeel Aadam - US - ( @aqeelaadam )
Sonja - Canada
Modekt - US

9AM Pacific, 12PM Eastern, 4PM GMT
Todd Barton - US
Chantal deFelice - US
Omri Cohen - Germany
Thamel - Belgium - ( @Jerome )

10AM Pacific, 1PM Eastern, 5PM GMT
Dangerous Robot - US
JacqNoise - Germany
j.mccoy - US - ( @soundunit )
Bertolt Meyer - Germany

11AM Pacific, 2PM Eastern, 6PM GMT
Loya - France
Attowatt - Germany - ( @attowatt )
Lisa Belladonna - US
Ice Locus - Canada

12NOON Pacific, 3PM Eastern, 7PM GMT
Franck Martin - US
Megan Leber - Netherlands
A.M. Filipkowski - US
Woke-Ass Messiah - US - ( @woke-ass-messiah )
1PM Pacific, 4PM Eastern, 8PM GMT
Wounds - US
Tim Held - US
Lyburnum - US
Ava Koohbor - US

2PM Pacific, 5PM Eastern, 9PM GMT
Tom Hall - US - ( @sonoptik )
Alphastare - US
Dahlia Fae - US
Balance.Spring - US

3PM Pacific, 6PM Eastern, 10PM GMT
Collin Russell - US
Stujay - US
H. Anton Riehl - US
Kyle Munroe - US

4PM Pacific, 7PM Eastern, 11PM GMT
Mike Dobler - US
Nundale - US
Pablo Perez - US
Circle Temple - US

5PM Pacific, 8PM Eastern, 12AM GMT
Alex Barnett - US
Marika Tjelios - US
WabiSabi - US - ( @wabisabi )
Malarki - US - ( @malarki )
6PM Pacific, 9PM Eastern, 1AM GMT
Kittyspit - US
Sine Mountain - US - ( @SotoX3 )
Forestine - Canada
The Aefonic - US

7PM Pacific, 10PM Eastern, 2AM GMT
Johno Wells - US


(llllllll account names are formatted oddly 'cause I can’t post more than 10 user references in a post!)

20 Likes

Very impressive list! additionally, Thamel is @Jerome

4 Likes

pretty stoked to see so many first time performers on the list!!

2 Likes

Thanks for the mention, Mark! Can’t wait to watch this spectacular event!

1 Like

I am really honored to be part of this show. Wonderful artists, amazing curator, … See you there !

1 Like

Thanks for the mention! Also, fun to see some friends here on Lines I didn’t know were on lines!

3 Likes

I’m very humbled to be included with so many fantastic artists.

Thanks for taking the time to link lines community members, @mzero !

1 Like

So many amazing people in there, stoked to be part of this! I’m doing the chat as well, heavy Danish accent and all :slight_smile:

4 Likes

all three parts of the 34-hour stream are now archived on the Modular World channel: 1, 2, 3.

it was an amazing experience. such a blessing to drink in the incredible soundscapes throughout the event. the entire weekend flowed so smoothly. my piece was part of an “ambient interlude” along with @rbeny and @elin_piel. their sets were lovely, lush, ethereal.


gathering light

patch notes:

performed in a local nature preserve, alongside a slow creek, underneath sun-dappled trees filled with nuttall’s woodpeckers and chattering songbirds. a zoom h5 ran in the background as the field recorder for all the environmental sounds while i was playing.

squarp hermod sequences four voices: the melodies are mutable rings & plaits, the bass is instruo tš-l, and the slow swells are from beads as a wavetable oscillator, run through long magneto delays. additional melodies are played by hand using bitbox’s touchscreen, sampled from beads in wavetable mode; slow phrases and single notes building up drifting, shifting polyphonic chords and unsynced loops. everything goes through a pair of FXaids for delay and reverb.

norns was a friend to this setup: i used norns as a lightweight audio recorder for the performance. many thanks to @tehn, @zebra, et al for implementing the virtual tape feature. this is something i’ll do again in the future, especially if i’m not using a mic on-location, as norns is lighter and thinner than the h5.

(even more patch notes are on the video.)
:control_knobs::deciduous_tree::bird::blue_heart:

7 Likes

Echoing @ioflow - it was an amazing stream to be a part of, full of such a wide range of musics.

My work can be found in the massive archived stream… and also here:

The work explores moving between continuous sound and pulsed sound: The opening chords become pulsed… later the pulsed percussion becomes continuous.

Chords are MicroMonsta. Bass line is the amazing BASS voice on the Pulsar-23. All the remaining percussion and wild effects are Pulsar-23. The Poly Beebo provides giant, dark, shimmery reverb over the chords and bass.

Integral to the performance are three controller elements: Launchpad Pro mk3 for playing notes; Genki Wave for expression (first over the chords, then later over the bass voice and effects), and bicycle, my performance midi looper software on Raspberry Pi for looping the chord and bass elements.

My friend Lachlan Fletcher mastered the performance audio.

1 Like

It really was an amazing show!! My mind is still blown by all the performances!

Mine is below for good measure but for the Teletype fans out there, I’d check out @attowatt 's amazing set. Part 2 of the stream, 1hr and 34mins in.

4 Likes

Thanks @egon77 !
Here’s the direct link to my performance:

2 Likes

Ha! I love Johno’s intro. Really though, it’s insane how you incrementally make the patch blossom. And the end result is amazing! It inspires me to push myself to learn something new on the Teletype.