Mudlogger - West Of Shetland

Hi - I’m happy to release a new mudlogger album - West Of Shetland. Available now.

Order here - www.mudlogger.bandcamp.com

There are cassette tapes (available now), digital and also it will be available on all major streaming services. I made lots of videos using an LZX system, which I will upload over the next few weeks. The fun part are the videos, because I’m brand new to that, and I don’t quite know what I’m doing :slight_smile:

Here’s some info :

I used to work 175km West of the Shetland Islands, offshore in the Schiehallion field, on a semi submersible drilling oil rig, anchored to the North Atlantic Ocean floor. My official position was “mudlogger” the lowest and crappiest paid job offshore, at that time.

In winter, before a storm approached, the helicopters are cancelled and all the containers are strapped to the deck. The sea is calm. Within 24 hours, wind speeds are 160 mph. The waves are 20m high. The emergency supply boat in the distance is barely visible, as it disappears behind each wave. The howling noise, is just like the movies. The rig rolls, as each wave hits. At night, it slowly rocks me to sleep from my cabin bunk. Sometimes the roll takes so long, I wonder if it will roll back or continue and roll over.

West Of Shetland was made with the same system I used to record my previous album Kubota. All tracks recorded live in 1 take to a stereo track. There is no multi tracking, overdubbing or post edits. Recorded during the monsoon in North East Thailand 2020.

Instruments - monome, isms, grid, arc, w/, crow
Mastered by Timothy Stollenwerk at Stereophonic Mastering
Artwork and Design by @Whinger Corey Holms www.coreyholms.com

Thank you : Scanner Darkly, Tyler Etters, Matt Daniel, rjonline00, Sam Boling, Trent Gill, Ezra Buchla, Dan Derks and Brian Crabtree. Pretty much every person here has some direct or indirect involvement in some way, to at least 1 track.

57 Likes