Multiple Projects (and How You Split Between Them)

Hi! Found out about this forum through the excellent Sound + Process podcast and thought it would be the right place to get some opinions regarding the latest in my ever-expanding list of creative blocks.

I’ve been making music under the moniker Pie Are Squared since 2010, which I started in order to make the music I wasn’t making with the bands I was in at the time and in order to learn more about sound design, recording, mixing…etc. My first couple of EP’s and full-lengths were this mish-mash of genres and sounds, a bit of post-rock here, some glitchy electronica there and a whole lot of ambient/drone/noise and while I am still quite content with how they turned out and how they reflect where I was as a musician at the time, last year I took the decision to limit this project to my more ambient experiments. The plan is to create 2 new projects, with one being focused on more beat-oriented, electronic music and the other for “guitar stuff”.

The problem I am facing right now is that having gotten so used to doing whatever I liked with little regard to genre, I am finding it very difficult to sit down and write (for lack of a better word) a whole album for these new. I mean I love imposing limits on what I do and minimize my choices, but now whenever I start with something that could go in any direction, I find it difficult to pinpoint exactly where to take it if that makes any sense. So I guess my question is, for those of you who have different projects, making different kinds of music, how do you manage those in a creative sense?

Thanks and sorry for the long post

3 Likes